Dan and Bill’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Is THAT the same horse? October 23, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — danandbill @ 5:52 pm

Just a quick update today and a photo.  My schedule this week hasn’t left me much free time, but I’ve been wanting to work more with Dan so today I took the saddle and bridle out to tack him up.  Boy is he handsome under tack.  I can’t believe how much better he looks in 3 short weeks!  It doesn’t even seem like the same horse. 

Dan loads, ties, stands nicely for grooming/tacking, leads, is super friendly…I could go on but I really don’t want to because then someone will want to come and adopt him! 🙂  Seriously, that is the goal.  It will still be a little while before I get on Dan.  His ribs are well sprung and his chest is deep, so he can take up a lot of leg.  You can see in the picture that my 17.5 inch english saddle looks small on him.  He’s probably only 14.3-15hands at the most, but has nice sturdy, thick bones and feet.  But, even with a wither relief pad the saddle is still on his spine, so I didn’t longe him in it…we just walked around a little bit.  I almost forgot to snap a picture and just did it as an afterthought before I pulled the saddle off of him, so forgive the treat bag, longe line and other mess in the picture. 

Dan under saddle

Dan under saddle

I was suprised when I went to buckle the girth (48″) and it barely fit!  YAY!  I’d like to take this chance to thank my husband, Chris, for developing Dan’s feeding program.  He’s always happy to talk to people about anything from feed problems for hard or easy keepers, to ways to cut costs in your feeding program.  You can reach him at T.G. Adams Feeds (302) 337-8281.
And finally, Bill, Dan, and lots of other horses are available through Another Chance 4 Horses (www.ac4h.com).  If you are considering buying a horse, or even if you already have horses and just like me have some extra room and want to help out some in need, check out their page. 
 

Leave a Reply

